Why choose cloth diapers?

Note: I’m writing this to the sounds of a tantruming toddler in the other room (who is with his dad). While I am pretty good at physically removing myself from my child, mentally and emotionally removing myself is a whole ‘nother story. But, I will try! Focus!

Okay, so you want to know why you should choose cloth diapers. To be honest, when I first heard about diapers, I thought it was the grossest thing in the world. “You mean, the baby poops in it…then you use it again?!” But cloth diapers make a whole lot of sense and eventually, logic won me over.  

Here are my top reasons for using cloth diapers:

They help you save money.

This was the initial reason we decided to cloth diaper. We were avidly working towards paying down debt (we’re now debt free!) and I was looking for any place to save money. Before our baby had arrived, I spent about $200 for a batch of used cloth diapers. Disposables can easily run you $500…in the first year alone.

Multiply that by the number of years in diapers and the number of kids, and that adds up to a whole lotta money.  BumGenius, a super popular brand, will run you about $430 for 24 brand new diapers. So even if you decide to buy all new diapers, you come out ahead.

You can use them for multiple kids.

This point branches off of the previous point, but still, it should be stated. Once one child is done with the diapers, store them away for the next baby….unless you make ’em quick, and in that case, just keep them in rotation.

You can resell them.

Okay, so apparently money is a big deal to me. Maybe I have a problem.

Buy diapers that you end up not liking? Just resell them. Buy diapers that you love the living daylights out of and use them for years but they still have some life in them? Just resell them.

The bulk portion of my diaper stash came from a lot I bought on eBay for $97. It came with 25 diapers (BumGenius 4.0s if you’re wondering) that had been bought brand new by the previous owner and used over the diapering lifetime of one child.

When I got them, the velcro had been replaced and the elastic was shot (I replaced it myself; not hard to do, but tedious). These were no spring chickens. But you know what? They work! We seem to forget when getting caught up in cute babyness that diapers are essentially poop catchers. Seriously. Therefore, function wins over fashion.

So going back to the original number of $430 for a set of brand new diapers. If you then sold them in 3 years time for $97, that means that your total output was … hold on while I google that #mombrain … $333. Holy cow, that’s so cheap, I’ll take 20! (If by 20, you’re talking about 20 kids, say no. Just. say. no.)

It saves you a trip to the grocery store.

Maybe you’re one of those people who remembers to get everything on your list. Or maybe, you’re like me: going to the store for one item and coming home with 20 which does not include the original item you set out to get. #facepalm

So, I think I would be the kind of mom who realizes we have no diapers on hand at the exact moment I smell something fishy.

The opposite can be argued that it’s quicker to run out to the store than it is to wash a whole batch of cloth diapers. Touche. With the money you saved in the first year of cloth diapering, you can treat yourself to a few extra diapers and never run into this issue.

It helps the environment.

I don’t live in an off-the-grid tree house by the river. So no judgment coming from me. But a disposable diaper can take up to 500 years to decompose. Four million babies are born in the U.S. every year. Babies use 2500-3000 diapers in the first year along. 500 times four million times 2500 … counts on fingers … equals a lot of diapers staying around for a very very long time.

Sidenote about disposables: Let’s acknowledge what disposables are awesome at doing. Absorbing. One day my mom took my son in the pool with a disposable diaper on…and it absorbed ALL. THE. WATER. Okay, not the whole pool, but the diaper was the size of a cantaloupe when I changed it. And it made my son walk like a cowboy. So, there’s that. [Sidenote to the sidenote: Regular disposable diapers are not meant for the pool. There are swim diapers for that purpose, and they come in both disposables and cloth.]

Note: Okay, now I hear my husband teaching my 2 year old son to say “Yo yo yo, baby B in da houze!” I must leave blogging land and return to the land where my heart lies.

Sources:

  1. They help you save money:
    http://www.investopedia.com/articles/pf/08/budgeting-for-baby.asp
    https://www.babycenter.com/top-baby-costs#articlesection2
    http://www.whattoexpect.com/preconception/preparing-for-baby/work-and-finance/what-babies-really-cost.aspx
  2. Fewer chemicals are on my baby’s skin:
    Chemicals are dangerous:
    Chemicals are mild and considered nontoxic: https://www.babycenter.com/0_whats-in-disposable-diapers-8211-and-are-they-safe-for-your_10335425.bc?page=2#articlesection2
  3. It helps the environment:
    http://realdiapers.org/diaper-facts
Leave a Reply

